How do you react? What do you do?


We live in a vastly different environment than 20 years ago. Of course, “Duh” may be the first response you think of. Think of this instead. When you wake up in the morning and it’s time to start your day, what do you immediately think of? What is your first concern? Do you think about your job, your children, your spouse, your animals, or do you have loftier concerns?

Do you hope to be beneficial to someone? Do you intend to be the best you can be? Do you want to be a better spouse, parent, aunt, uncle, any family member? If you said ‘Yes’ to the previous question, the odds are good that you will accomplish one of those goals. The odds are good that you may change someone’s life for the better. You could possibly inspire someone to move forward with a study they have been involved in that may lead to a cure for some dreaded disease. Sounds lofty, but it can and does happen.

The first thing you will probably do after you pour a cup of coffee is turn on a cell phone, a computer, a TV. You’ll either check your voice-mail, e-mail, find a news channel, log in to a social network. Will you be looking to find mistakes people have made or will you be intending to spread some sort of joy? Will you start to formulate a plan for the day, prepare to go to work, get your children ready for school, or will you choose to let it all go by and hope someone caters to your negative side? Do you hope to see someone do something that you can turn into a negative energy then spread it like poison in whichever medium you are most proficient in? Can you help without effort or will you put effort into damaging others?

I could relate experiences here that I have been through in my life that were not so kind, but in most cases, those bad or damaging experiences were due to my own bad decisions. Not all of them, but some part of them. Many of those experiences arose because I just happened to be in a place for some benevolent reason.

Yesterday, I received a parcel in the mail that was the tipping point for me to make a decision that I have been putting off for a year or two. I finally made that decision after opening the envelope I held in my hand. I made the decision to remove a negative influence in my life. An entity that was very close to me, close to my heart, but an entity that I had been retaining in hopes of a better outcome than the one that has been very visible and looming on the road to being a better man in all forms. The mail was from one of my parents.

I will no longer have fear, pain, anger, disappointment, disapproval, dissatisfaction in my life from that one source. In severing that tie, or ending that relationship, I vow to be a better man. I vow to be a better husband, a better friend, business owner, I vow to be someone people are pleased to know.

I vow to uplift, by-pass the negative, choose the higher road, wear a smile in perpetuity.

When you see a poisonous snake lying on the ground, realize how much space it does NOT occupy. That is the full glass.

Thanks for looking and have a smoking hot, awesome day,
Kelly J.

2 comments

  1. Aha! You have caught me. Generally, when I first get up in the morning, my thoughts immediately go to letting the dog out and braumeistering (my newly created word) that first cup of coffee…..another day in the life. But, being compassionate and passionate about a variety of things, my day is nearly always planned, sparked by such passions which seem to fill my life…..some to a fault.

    However I, like you, have situations within relationships that can cause heartache, can cause tremendous sorrow and, at the same time, instill me with the knowledge that the relationship is forever gone…..that it is I who must set all feelings aside and move on.

    Hellah painful, but regretfully necessary.

    Like

    • Yes, Bill, I have finally gotten to that place as well. As much as I want to wait it out, that is way too destructive for me. I have to move on and there is no alternative to consider. I have dealt with this and anticipated an amicable outcome for at least half of my life, but it just isn’t going to happen, not due to a lack of effort on my part. Life is what we make and I want better and am determined to make it better.

      Thanks for reading, Bill.
      God bless,
      Kelly J.

      Like

Share your thoughts about my thoughts.

