Things my father told me while he was alive.


When I was a young boy, ten years old or so, my father once said to me,
“I don’t make the rules.
You make the rules.
I just enforce them when you make them.
You can’t police yourself.”

At first, I was a bit confused.
The word “police” actually wiped the rest of what he was telling me away.
At ten years old, “police” is a scary word.
Well, today it is a scary word as well, however for completely different reasons.

Anyway, later I understood it and never forgot it.

We’ve never talked much since then.

He’s not around any longer.

Thanks for looking,
Kelly J.

Share your thoughts about my thoughts.

